Tune’s Choice ~ Nao Yoshioka

Nao Yoshioka Rising CD cover

Have you ever listened to your favorite radio station and heard a song that you just fell in love with but had no idea what artists sings that certain song? Well, this happens to me very often when I decide to listen to the radio and don’t pay attention to the recording artist info that scrolls across the digital screen.

This song ” Make a Change” had me on point and desperate looking for the person who made it. It seems I was searching for the typical R&B singer. My assumption that the artist was African-American { we all fall prey stereotypes…don’t judge me 🙂 }

I was delighted to learn that the artist is Japanese soul singer, Nao Yoshioka.  She has been a huge hit in Japan since 2012 and has finally made her U.S debut this year. I am a person that truly believes that music is universal and transcends all things that divides us a people.  It’s refreshing to step out of one’s comfort zone and experience the unknown.  When I find artists of different races and cultures categorized in my favorite genre of music, it gives me a new appreciation for my genre and it’s and added bonus when I can connect to their sound and delivery especially when I feel that today’s American R&B, hip-hop, and rap genres has gone to hell in a hand basket. It’s no longer about love. It’s no longer about bringing to light social or political injustices. It’s no longer about uplifting.

Back in the day, Smokey Robinson was telling his girl, “Let Me Be Your Clock”. You had to read between the lines to understand what he was saying. He wasn’t all vulgar and insensitive. He was being soothing and romantic.  Back in the day, Marvin Gaye was asking “What’s Going On?” He was bringing to light the injustices of the world.  Back in the day, Queen Latifah was advocating for “U.N.I.T.Y” and demanding respect for woman with the words “Who You Callin’ A Bitch?”  Now we all about Anaconda, Twerking, Drinking, Partying, and Making it Rain. {Okay, I went in my feeling a bit}

That’s Why it is so refreshing when you have an artist such as Nao Yoshioka, who brings back that soul sound that is filled with so much emotion of Love, Praise, & Justice.  I gladly add her to my collection of Jill Scott, Erykah Badu, Maxwell, Tyrese.  BRING BACK R&B!!!! {can you tell how excited I am about her 🙂 }

Here are a few songs from her debut CD, The Light.

Nao Yoshioka

Discussion The Madness

